BBC Sherlock Fan Forum - Serving Sherlockians since February 2012.

You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

June 3, 2012 11:17 pm  #1

Hi from Pennsylvania :)

Hello Everyone-

My name is Janine. I live in Harrisburg Pennsylvania and I am so delighted to have found this community. I am so impressed with the intelligent witty commentary on this board, a perfect compliment to the show. Thank you so much for having me. Oops after watching Irene Adler, I better rephrase that

I am new to the show, having been introduced to it by my boyfriend as Season 2 began here on PBS only a few short weeks ago. So all you experts please be gentle with me until I catch up on all the nuances of each episode. I am off to a good start. After being completely enthralled and mesmerized after seeing A Scandal in Belgravia, I went out the following day and bought all the other episodes and have watched each one a few times over.

I do not watch a lot of TV other than news or old movies on TCM because most of it here in america is dumbed down shlock. The last tV show I was really captivated by was the show Lost. I was in mourning in when it concluded and I was sure I would not find anything else as brilliantly written or with characters so intricate and delicious. I was wrong. I've found it in Sherlock and I am so excited. TV is fun again!

I grew up loving all the Sherlock Holmes stories, loved the Basil Rathbone WWII Grade B movies, and thought the Granada TV series with Jeremy Brett was brilliant and spot on true to the books. But none of the earlier adaptations are as fun, as clever as Sherlock.

I love Benedict Cumberbatch  (god he is sexy), Andrew Scott and Lara Pulver and Martin Freeman was a fave of mine from The Office. Those four characters have such great chemistry and are so deliciously over the top. I just pray they bring back Irene Adler and that Moriarty is not dead.

Anyway that is all for now. Look forward to chatting with you all