BBC Sherlock Fan Forum - Serving Sherlockians since February 2012.

You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

May 8, 2015 2:32 am  #1

Hello everyone!

Hi all!
I found the forum earlier today while looking for reference images for a story... and thought I might join!

I have only recently gotten into the BBC television series but I have enjoyed the stories for years. Hmmm what to say? I'm currently in school studying to be a Pharmacy Assistant. I am a mother of three (and my older two, both boys, enjoy the show as well!) and I work in retail. I am drawing a blank as far as what else to say...so feel free to ask.

Oh, here's something cool. In my current class at school - which involves writing - my first major assignment was an essay. I wrote it on who is the better Sherlock - Ben or RDJ. My instructor must have enjoyed it because she said in front of the whole class that it was "beautiful".

May 8, 2015 3:00 am  #2

Re: Hello everyone!

Hello and welcome to the forum Well done on your essay, what a good topic. Which actor did you conclude was the better Sherlock Holmes? I'm fairly new to Sherlock fandom myself, having watched the show for the first time this year. I had seen the RDJ films before, but hadn't felt the need to go and read the original stories until after seeing the BBC version. My personal preference is for Benedict, although having recently watched a few of Jeremy Brett's episodes, his portrayal is spot on for authenticity.

Which part of the world do you hail from, may I ask?

Have fun here!

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

May 8, 2015 6:05 am  #3

I live in Canada...outside Vancouver.
I own both of RDJ's movies and have watched all 9 eps on Netflix... I thorougly enjoy Robert's performance, but I found after I thought about it I prefer Ben.
Thanks!

May 8, 2015 8:12 am  #4