BBC Sherlock Fan Forum - Serving Sherlockians since February 2012.

You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

January 12, 2014 2:35 am  #1

I REALIZE it's Probably Not Deliberate

...but isn't there almost a messianic motif going here?

I am no expert on religious scripture, but I believe there are stories about Christ heeling cripples and raising other people from the dead?

- John's limp goes away. 

- John refers to Sherlock saving him and bringing him back to life.

- I don't know much about Mary Magdalen, but wasn't she considered kind of...well, a fallen woman, to be polite? Sherlock saves a sex worker (Irene) who doesn't really deserve it after all she did.

- Sherlock covered in blood.

- the public turns against Sherlock right before his death

- note the position of Sherlock's arms before he jumps

- his supposed death saves other people (this was not really the case in canon)

- Sherlock saying in "Many Happy Returns" that he will come back

- Anderson and his group believing Sherlock will come back (but not everyone can believe, and somehow it makes me mad that Anderson now believes in Sherlock more than John does - John should be the big believer)

John's "don't be dead," and "stop being dead," lines made me wonder if he did suspect, on some level, that it was a ruse...or else he almost thinks Sherlock could rise from the dead...he says "one more miracle," which means that he considers other things Sherlock has done to be miracles.

Granted, much of this, particularly the "rise from the dead," is also from canon. I want to know how Sherlock faked it...but I would kind of like him NOT to tell everyone from Scotland Yard who hated him...let them wonder if it could be something divine or supernatural.

January 12, 2014 9:37 am  #2

Re: I REALIZE it's Probably Not Deliberate