BBC Sherlock Fan Forum - Serving Sherlockians since February 2012.

You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

July 4, 2012 10:16 am  #1

Comedian Eric Sykes dies aged 89

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-18704263

Comedian and actor Eric Sykes has died at the age of 89, his manager has said.

Sykes was best-known for writing and performing in a series of TV sitcoms from the 1950s, including Sykes And A... alongside co-star Hattie Jacques.

He also starred in films including Monte Carlo or Bust, Absolute Beginners, Those Magnificent Men In Their Flying Machines and The Others.

Norma Farnes said: "Eric Sykes, star of TV, stage and films, died peacefully this morning after a short illness."

R.I.P.what a funny man he was.

____________________________________________________________________________________________
Also, please note that sentences can also end in full stops. The exclamation mark can be overused.
Sherlock Holmes 28 March 13:08

Mycroft’s popularity doesn’t surprise me at all. He is, after all, incredibly beautiful, clever and well-dressed. And beautiful. Did I mention that?
--Mark Gatiss

"I know that you believe you understand what you think I said, but I’m not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant."
Robert McCloskey

July 4, 2012 3:11 pm  #2

Re: Comedian Eric Sykes dies aged 89

I've just read this post and now I am a bit sad.
I liked Eric Sykes.
R.I.P.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't make people into heroes John. Heroes don't exist and if they did I wouldn't be one of them.

July 4, 2012 9:24 pm  #3

Very sad news. I was fortunate enough to see Eric Sykes quite a few years ago on stage at the Playhouse Theatre in Liverpool. Can't remember the name of the play but remember him very clearly.