BBC Sherlock Fan Forum - Serving Sherlockians since February 2012.

You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

February 23, 2015 6:31 am  #1

Not another Aussie?!

Hi everyone, I've been posting for a bit over a week now, so I thought I should probably introduce myself. My name's Amber, and yes, I'm another Aussie. I am very new to Sherlock fandom owing to the fact that I don't usually get to watch much TV (due to having 2 young kids that never go to bed on time). However I borrowed the first 2 seasons of Sherlock on DVD from my mum and by the time I'd watched the first 5 episodes I had ordered season 3. Now I'm watching them all again  I have become tragically obsessed with Benedict Cumberbatch and I'm diligently making my way through his list of amazing work, including Third Star, The Fifth Estate and Star Trek Into Darkness. I've requested everything the local library has that Benedict appears in or gives his voice to - including a children's audiobook he narrated (kids come in handy  ). I still haven't managed to see The Imitation Game  (we don't go to the movies much and my husband vetoed seeing it in favour of American Sniper - he's a jealous man  ). Today I started to watch To The Ends of the Earth - love Ben in period costume 

My kids (5 and 8) are Sherlock fans too, despite never having seen an episode - I think I may talk about it too much. They have picked up quite a few of Sherlock's sayings and gestures, and know all the characters' names. My 5 year old is adorable when he says the name "Benedict Cumberbatch" but I think my husband might be a bit over it!  I haven't been a fangirl like this since The X-Files! The Internet has come a long way since then, there is so much available for me to look at, read and drool over! I'm glad this forum exists so I can talk to like-minded people