BBC Sherlock Fan Forum - Serving Sherlockians since February 2012.

You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

September 14, 2012 11:59 am  #1

Psychopaths- some new findings

Was Moriarty a psychopath? Sherlock maintains he is not a psychopath 'do your homework' but a 'high functioning sociopath'. Anyhow here is a bit of surprising research about psychopaths.

www.queensu.ca/news/articles/psychopaths-may-not-suffer-mental-disorder

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't make people into heroes John. Heroes don't exist and if they did I wouldn't be one of them.

September 14, 2012 8:31 pm  #2

Re: Psychopaths- some new findings

Nice find The thought of psychopathy not being a mental illness is interesting. Especially since I'm studying mental disorders at the moment. I don't truly agree with the article though - I don't think hurting people (in many forms) is "functioning well in society". I do like the notion that they should be held more responsible for their crimes though, heh.

Moriarty definitely seems like a psychopath to me.

----------------------------------------------------------------
SH: "Brilliant, Anderson."
Anderson: "Really?"
SH: "Yes. Brilliant impression of an idiot."

September 15, 2012 9:09 am  #3

Yeah, he's definitely a psychopath. And it kind of fits his analysis, because he's definitely in control of what he's doing, despite being insane. He chooses his own actions and understands their consequences.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Eventually everyone will support Johnlock.

Independent OSAJ Affiliate

March 13, 2015 11:57 am  #4