BBC Sherlock Fan Forum - Serving Sherlockians since February 2012.

You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

June 17, 2012 7:46 am  #1

Posting pics for dummies by the biggest dummy

To start with, I am NOT a technical person. I have had no formal training whatsoever. I learnt from an expert but was lucky that everything was explained in plain words & I could then translate it in to MY words. So to everyone who knows what they are doing, this is probably going to be a comical thread for you. It hasn't hurt me before and I have helped a lot of people online who had no idea where to start.
Again, I am an amateur so do not accept my word as gospel and please, if I suggest a site I am NOT endorsing it and I strongly suggest you read their terms of use, etc etc. Also with site suggestions, others are quite welcome to list other places & everyone should realise that all sites have a few glitches. It's up to each user to work through things the best way they can so that you get an understanding of things in 'your own words'.

WHERE ARE THE PICTURES?

There are several places you can get images from. Where they come from will in a way determine how you post them.

Pictures saved on your computer - These need to be uploaded to an online picture place; somewhere that you can store images online in your own little account.
I use Photobucket, but there are heaps more & I am sure we'll get lots of suggestions on this part. You need to go there & make an account. You can usually set your account to private so that no-one else can see your pics unless you choose. Every site will have details, it's up to you to read & understand what it's all about.

Pictures from online - these are basically pictures off webpages. Depending on the source, you need to be selective of which ones you 'snatch' because some get a little tetchy over copyright. You may find some have a watermark over them to reserve their ownership, which is reasonable.